AB de Villiers smashed fastest ODI hundred

The Proteas skipper AB de Villiers demonstrated his enormous strength when he slammed the world’s fastest ODI hundred in just 31 balls. West Indies won the toss and decided to field first, but they never realized that the decision would turn so expensive. When South Africa finished their batting the team had successfully put a mammoth total of 439 runs on the scoreboard.

AB de Villiers smashed fastest ODI hundred

AB de Villiers smashed fastest ODI hundred

Thanks to South African batsmen who kept scoring at ease without bothering about the West Indies Bowling attack. All the first three batsmen of the Proteas team scored a magnificent century each to help the team put a massive total on board. AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla kept the audience enthralled throughout the inning. The Proteas skipper AB de Villiers scored blitzkrieg 149 runs off just 44 deliveries with 9 boundaries and 6 sixes to completely demolish the weak West Indies bowling attack.

When AB de Villiers walked onto bat, South Africa were already on 247/1 with still 70 balls to go. The Proteas skipper wasted not a single moment and he immediately went on rampage. Soon he completed his fifty at a very quick time in just 16 deliveries and soon he slammed his ton in just 31 balls. With this century the 30-year-old wicketkeeper batsman created a world record of scoring the fastest ODI ton breaking Anderson’s 100 run-record off 36 deliveries that he scored last year.

Earlier Hashim Amla and Rillee Russouw built a solid partnership of 247 runs that laid the foundation for South Africa to post a huge total for the visitors to chase on. Rilee Rossouw got out only after scoring his maiden century. He was dismissed for 128 runs off 115 deliveries with 11 fours and a couple of sixes. Hashim Amla remained unbeaten on 153* runs off 142 balls with 14 boundaries.

The real stunning performance was delivered by the Proteas skipper when he smashed the world’s fastest hundred. He finished the inning with 149 runs off 44 balls with 16 sixes and 9 fours. At the end of the 50th over South Africa post a huge total of 439 runs with Hashim Amla (153*) and David Miller (0*) remained unbeaten.

West Indies seemed more interested in reducing the margin of defeat rather than winning the match. Chris Gayle looked completely out of form and he got out early bringing an end to fans’ wishes of witnessing another explosive inning from the left handed batsman. Although Dwane Smith and Ramdin hit fifties but these were insufficient to avoid the imminent defeat.

Smith was caught by Duminy off Behardien on 64 off 65 deliveries with 9 boundaries and a six. While Ramdin played a robust knock of 57 run with 4 fours and a six. The rest of the batsmen collapsed at the front of mighty South African bowling attack. Jonathan Carter and Marlon Samuels tried to resist in the end, but it was already too late. Both the batsmen were dismissed for 40. At the end of 50-over quota West Indies scored 291-runs only that gave the host a stunning victory by 148 runs.

10 fastest ODI Hundred Records

Sr. No Name of the   Cricketer Balls Opponent Year
1) Ab De Villiers (South Africa) 31 West Indies 2015
2) Corey Anderson

(New Zealand)

36 West Indies 2014
3) Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) 37 Sri Lanka 1996
4) Mark Boucher (South Africa) 44 Zimbabwe 2006
5) Brian Lara (West Indies) 45 Bangladesh 1999
6) Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) 45 India 2005
7) Jesse Ryder (New Zealand) 46 West Indies 2014
8) Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 48 Pakistan 1996
9) KJ’O Brien (Ireland) 50 England 2011
10) Virat Kohli (India) 52 Australia 2013
About author
Aspiring Media Enthusiast, Cricket Tragic, Football Fanatic, Avid Reader, Amateur Photographer & Wannabe Sports Writer.

Cricket Pulse © 2017 All Rights Reserved

CricketPulse.com is dedicated channel for ball by ball live updated scores, latest cricket news, articles, player profiles, features, player statistics and forthcoming series. It also offers users the most comprehensive live coverage of international and domestic cricket. It also provide information and news on Indian Premier League (IPL).

By: The Sports Mirror